FAQ

Admission

No, admission is free of charge. The fair is intended for students and recent graduates only, however, so you need to obtain an admission ticket to enter the fair.

Yes. The fair is intended for students and recent graduates only. Please sign up to obtain your free admission ticket. If you decide to visit the fair without prior registration, please go to the information desk at the exhibition grounds where you’ll be able to sign up on the spot with your smartphone.

Once you’ve signed up, we’ll send you your free admission ticket as a PDF file by email. The ticket will also be available for repeated downloads in the “My Day” section. When you come to visit the fair, please bring your ticket, either as a printed hard copy or on your smartphone.

Of course! The exhibitors will be available until 6:00pm and are looking forward to talking to you. You shouldn't plan too much for the one hour you have, however. Keep your plans down to two to four potential employers. Hurrying from one stand to the next won’t make a good impression.

The fair will take place on the Messe Wien exhibition grounds, hall D, located right next to Campus WU. The best way to reach the Career Calling fair by public transportation is to take subway line U2, stop Krieau.

Sign-Up & Website

No, you need to sign up to attend the Career Calling fair. Sign-up is required to receive your admission ticket (see entry under "Do I need a ticket …?").

In addition to receiving your free admission ticket, signing up will also enable you to view all job openings and exhibitor profiles and to tag your highlights and view them in the "My Day" section.

Once you've signed up, you can have the website remember potential employers, jobs, and program items by tagging them with a star symbol. The "My Day" section will list all your starred items on an overview page, along with your admission ticket, your profile, and a map of the exhibition grounds. The "My Day" section also allows you to compile a single PDF file with all your selected items that you can use as your personal Career Calling guide.

Yes. Once you sign up or update your profile, you can use all functions. You'll receive automatically your admission ticket for the fair, however you're not obligated to visit the fair in this case.

Preparations

Being well prepared is half the game. Familiarize yourself with potential employers that will be represented at the fair, look for suitable job openings, and update your application documents. Also be sure to pick up your free copy of the Career Calling magazine from your career center. The magazine will give you comprehensive information on how to get the most out of your conversations with potential employers at the fair.

In addition to your admission ticket, bring all the materials you need to remain organized during the bustle of the fair: your Career Calling map, the Career Calling magazine, your "My Day" printout, printed résumés, any application letters you may have prepared, a notepad, a pen, …

A professional appearance is important at Career Calling. We recommend that you wear a business outfit. After all, Career Calling is a business-oriented event. Be sure to choose shoes that are classy but also comfortable – a day at Career Calling can be physically tiring.

It's up to you. If you've applied for a certain job prior to the fair, mention your application when you talk to the exhibitors to find out if they remember you. If you apply for a job after the event, be sure to mention that you spoke to a company representative at the Career Calling fair in your application letter.

Career Prospects

Career Calling is a job fair for students and recent university graduates in the fields of business, economics, technology, and science. The companies that participate in the fair as potential employers expect to meet visitors and applicants with an academic background in these areas. Similarly, the job openings are tailored to applicants with an academic degree. For this reason, visiting the fair only makes sense if you have the appropriate academic qualifications.

Of course! There is a dedicated area at the fair for business law students, graduates and young professionals – find out about career prospects in legal consulting and law firms at JusPlus Legal Corner (stand 432).

Yes. The potential employers who participate in Career Calling are looking for people with academic qualifications in business, economics, technology, or science, regardless of the institution.

Yes! You can meet employers with a non-profit background at the NPO-Corner (stand 412).

Probably not. The potential employers who participate in Career Calling are primarily looking to fill entry-level positions. Career Calling is not the right place for discussing details about highly specialized professional positions.

Sure! Especially if you don’t have any work experience to list in your résumé, establishing personal contact with potential employers might give you a decisive edge. Many of the companies are also offering internship positions for qualified applicants.

Yes and no. Many Austrian employers use German as corporate language so they do require it. Still, each year there are also a few international companies that do not have German language skills as a prerequisite. Have a look at the list of exhibiting employers to get an overview and try also the filter "working languages" to find out at which companies English is also spoken.

FAQ

Eintritt

Nein, der Eintritt zur Career Calling ist kostenfrei. Da der Zugang zur Karrieremesse allerdings auf jobsuchende Studierende und junge Absolvent/innen beschränkt ist, sichern Sie sich bitte ein Eintrittsticket. Dieses garantiert den Zutritt zur Career Calling. 

Ja. Der Zugang zur Career Calling ist auf jobsuchende Studierende und junge Absolvent/innen beschränkt, weshalb wir Sie bitten, sich durch die Registrierung ein kostenfreies Eintrittsticket zu sichern. Möchten Sie sich spontan für einen Messebesuch entscheiden, dann wenden Sie sich bitte an die Information am Messegelände und registrieren Sie sich mit Ihrem Smartphone vor Ort.

Registrieren Sie sich und erhalten Sie das kostenfreie Ticket im pdf-Format per E-Mail. Sie können es später auch in Ihrem "Mein Tag"-Bereich finden und erneut herunterladen. Bringen Sie das Ticket bitte als Ausdruck oder auf dem Smartphone auf die Messe mit.

Natürlich! Die ausstellenden Arbeitgeber sind bis 18.00 Uhr vor Ort und freuen sich auf Gespräche. Nehmen Sie sich in der einen Stunde allerdings nicht zu viel vor, beschränken Sie sich auf zwei bis vier Arbeitgeber. Von einem Messestand zum nächsten zu eilen macht keinen guten Eindruck. 

Es gibt eine Garderobe, wo Sie Kleidung und Taschen abgeben können. Für diese kann jedoch keine Haftung übernommen werden.

Die Career Calling findet in der Messe Wien, Halle D, in unmittelbarer Nähe zum Campus WU statt. Öffentlich ist die Career Calling am besten über die U2, Station Krieau, zu erreichen.

Registrierung & Website

Nein, die Registrierung ist Voraussetzung, um die Career Calling zu besuchen. Denn ohne Registrierung erhalten Sie auch kein Eintrittsticket (siehe „Brauche ich ein Ticket...?“). 

Neben Ihrem kostenfreien Messeticket können Sie nach Ihrer Registrierung auch alle offenen Jobangebote sowie die Profile der Arbeitgeber einsehen. Außerdem können Sie Ihre Highlights markieren und unter „Mein Tag“ übersichtlich einsehen. 

Als registrierte/r Besucher/in können Sie sich Arbeitgeber, Jobs und einzelne Programmpunkte merken, indem Sie diese auf der jeweiligen Seite mit einem Stern markieren. Im "Mein Tag"-Bereich finden Sie die gemerkten Elemente in einer Übersicht, ebenso wie Ihr Messeticket, Ihr Profil und den Messeplan. Weiterhin haben Sie hier die Möglichkeit, ein zusammenhängendes PDF mit den gewünschten Elementen zu erstellen und so einen individuellen Messebegleiter zu erhalten.

Ja. Sie registrieren sich ganz normal auf der Website bzw. aktualisieren Ihr Profil, anschließend können Sie alle Funktionen nutzen. Sie erhalten zwar automatisch Ihr Eintrittsticket zur Career Calling, der Messebesuch ist in diesem Fall aber nicht verpflichtend.

Vorbereitung

Gut vorbereitet ist halb gewonnen. Informieren Sie sich über die ausstellenden Arbeitgeber, suchen Sie schon im Vorfeld passende Stellenangebote aus und optimieren Sie Ihre Bewerbungsunterlagen. Im Übrigen: Holen Sie sich kostenlos ein Messemagazin in Ihrem Career Center. Hier finden Sie umfassende Informationen, wie Sie die Gespräche auf der Career Calling zielbringend führen können. 

Nehmen Sie neben Ihrem Eintrittsticket die Unterlagen mit, die Sie im Trubel des Messegeschehens unterstützen: den Messeplan, das Messemagazin, die Druckversion von „Mein Tag“, ausgedruckte CVs, eventuell Bewerbungsschreiben, Notizblock, Kugelschreiber,…

Auf der Career Calling punkten Sie mit Ihrem professionellen Auftreten. Kleiden Sie sich business-like, die Career Calling ist schließlich eine Business-Messe. Denken Sie auch an bequeme, aber elegante Schuhe. Der Messetag kann intensiv werden!

Die Entscheidung liegt bei Ihnen. Wenn Sie sich bereits im Vorfeld auf offene Stellen bewerben, dann sprechen Sie auf der Career Calling Ihre Bewerbung direkt an. Vielleicht kann man sich an Ihre Unterlagen erinnern? Wenn Sie sich im Nachhinein bewerben, dann nehmen Sie am besten im Bewerbungsschreiben Bezug auf Ihre Gespräche am Messetag.

Karrierechancen

Die Career Calling ist eine Karrieremesse für Studierende und junge Absolvent/innen wirtschaftlicher, technischer und naturwissenschaftlicher Studien. Die Unternehmen, die auf der Career Calling als Arbeitgeber präsent sind, erwarten somit Besucher/innen bzw. Bewerber/innen mit einem akademischen Background. Auch die offenen Stellenangebote sind auf die Kompetenzen eines Studienabschlusses abgestimmt. Insofern macht ein Messebesuch nur dann Sinn, wenn Sie einen adäquaten Studienhintergrund haben. 

Natürlich – es gibt einen eigenen Bereich auf der Messe, der sich an Studierende, Absolvent/innen und Young Professionals des Wirtschaftsrechts richtet: Im JusPlus Legal Corner (Stand 432) lernen Sie Karrierechancen in Rechtsberatungen und Kanzleien kennen.

Ja, die Arbeitgeber auf der Career Calling sind auf der Suche nach Mitarbeiter/innen mit wirtschaftlichem, technischem oder naturwissenschaftlichem Studium, unabhängig von der Ausbildungsinstitution.

Ja! Im NPO-Corner (Stand 412) treffen Sie auf Arbeitgeber mit gemeinnützigen Hintergrund.

Eher nicht. Arbeitgeber möchten auf der Career Calling vor allem Einstiegspositionen bzw. Positionen für den ersten Karriereschritt besetzen. Die Career Calling bietet nicht den Rahmen für Gespräche zu sehr spezialisierten Positionen im Professional Bereich. 

Gerne! Gerade wenn der Lebenslauf noch keine Berufserfahrung aufweist, kann der persönliche Kontakt den entscheidenden Vorteil verschaffen. Außerdem vergeben viele Unternehmen qualifizierte Praktikumspositionen

Yes and no. Many Austrian employers use German as corporate language so they do require it. Still, each year there are also a few international companies that do not have German language skills as a prerequisite. Have a look at the list of exhibiting employers to get an overview and try also the filter "working languages" to find out at which companies English is also spoken.